2015 Fretheim Hotel, Flåm


10th International EnKF Workshop
June 8-10, 2015
Fretheim Hotel, Flåm

Welcome to the 10th International EnKF Workshop arranged by IRIS, NERSC and Uni CIPR.

The ensemble Kalman filter (EnKF) and its many variants have been proven effective for data assimilation in large models, including those in atmospheric, oceanic, hydrologic, and petroleum reservoir systems. By bringing together technical experts, practitioners, researchers and students for presentations and informal interchange of information, we aim to share research results and suggest important challenges that have yet to be addressed. Read more here.

The 10th International EnKF workshop is arranged by IRIS in collaboration with the Nansen Center (NERSC) and the Uni Research CIPR (CIPR) and Statoil.

Invited speakers:
Jeffrey Anderson; Computational and Information Systems Laboratory, Data Assimilation Research Section, NCAR, Boulder, USA: "Automated Design of Localization for Ensemble Kalman Filters"
Christopher K. Jones; Mathematics Department University of North Carolina (UNC) at Chapell Hill, USA: "A Hybrid Approach to Parameter Estimation"
Dick Dee; Reanalysis Section, European Centre for Medium Range Weather Forecasts (ECMWF): "Coupled data assimilation for climate reanalysis"
Ibrahim Hoteit; Physical Sciences and Engineering Division (PSE), King Abdullah University of Science and Technology (KAUST), Saudi Arabia: "Gaussian Mixture Filtering High Dimensional Systems"
Benoit Massart & Torbjørn Ek; Research Department in Statoil, Bergen: "Adaptive Plurigaussian Simulations or How to simulate facies realizations for three different real field cases"

Call for abstract: The deadline is March 2, 2015 and abstracts must be sent to Randi Valestrand (rv@iris.no).
We welcome abstracts on both new developments of the EnKF and related data assimilation methods and realistic applications. The applications are encouraged to discuss limitations and suggest further developments of the method. The accepted abstracts will be scheduled for either oral presentation or poster presentation. This workshop does not publish full papers, so submission of full paper is not required.

Dates: June 8 - 10, 2015

Program: available here

Tentative time schedule: Available here

Venue: Fretheim Hotel, Flåm, Sognefjord

How to get there: Read more here

Transport included in the registration fee as following:
Monday June 8th: Boat from Bergen at 08:00 am to Flåm. Arrival time in Flåm; 13:25 pm.
Wednesday June 10th:Departure by train from Flåm to Myrdal; 16:05 pm. Change of train at Myrdal to Bergen; 17:03 pm. Arrival time in Bergen: 19:57 pm. Ref. Time schedule above.

Registration fee: 9950 NOK (all taxes included). This includes transport (boat and train) roundtrip Bergen - Flåm, the conference, three lunches, two dinners and two nights at the hotel (8.- 10. June).
Please notice: Due to the location it is not possible to registrate for the workshop without hotel.

Please notice:
If hotel accommodation is needed prior the workshop from Sunday June 7th to Monday June 8th please contact Scandic Strand either on phone no. +47 55 59 33 86 or by e-mail strand@scandichotels.com. Reservation code: IRIS070615. NOK 1090 per night for single room. The hotel is located next to the place of departure by boat. Deadline for booking: April 27th. Please notice: The number of rooms is limited!

If hotel accommodation is needed after the workshop (Wed. 10th to Thur. 11th) please contact Grand Hotel Terminus either on phone no. +47 55 21 25 00 or by e-mail booking@grandterminus.no. Reservation code: 3871500. NOK 950 per night for single room included breakfast. Deadline: May 11th. Please notice: The number of rooms is limited!

Please notice: The registration is binding.

Registration: Closed

Deadline for registration: April 27th 2015.

Sponsors: [statoil]

The 10th International EnKF Workshop is sponsored by:Please contact Randi Valestrand (rv@iris.no) if you want to sponsor the workshop.

Scientific committee: Randi Valestrand (rv@iris.no), Xiaodong Luo (xilu@iris.no), IRIS, Laurent Bertino (laurent.bertino@nersc.no), Nansen Center, Dean Oliver (dean.oliver@uni.no), Uni Research CIPR and Remus Hanea
(rhane@statoil.com), Statoil

Organizing committee: Randi Valestrand (rv@iris.no), Xiaodong Luo (xilu@iris.no) and Mette S.Myhre (mes@iris.no) IRIS